Is there a minimum age requirement to be a certified pesticide applicator in Virginia?
According to regulatory specialists with the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (Office of Pesticide Services), the minimum age for applicators seeking to become certified as a registered technician or a commercial pesticide applicator in Virginia is 18 years of age.
The minimum age for applicators seeking to become certified as a private applicator in Virginia is 16 years of age.
These age restrictions are by agency policy, based on interpretation of
Virginia state labor laws concerning the employment of minors. They are
not part of the Virginia Pesticide Control Act or its regulations.
It is quite likely that most states have similar minimum age requirements. Please check with your state departments of agriculture or labor if you are seeking information for areas outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia. (5/16/05)